The Rainy Days.

I wake up and immediately look out the window at the sky……And sigh. The sky looks like a mirror again. Perfect, blue, still. Its so sunnyyyy!! I am peeved by the lack of dark clouds on the horizon. I imagine throwing a rock against that perfect screen, shattering it into a thousand pieces. Maybe a ticked off Zeus will peer out, with a frown that would easily demote Ma’s face when she finds out that yet again, I have snoozed past my alarm.

In the class just after lunch break, I look up and I see it. Looming far away with a menacing air of purpose. It’s headed this way for sure. A smile pulls at the corners of my mouth. The pluviophile in me rears her dreamy philosophical head.

It takes the entire afternoon to get here. In the meantime I doze and daydream through two classes and a lab and spend the afternoon doodling random stuff in my notebook instead of concentrating.  All the while my ear out for those soft footfalls.  The pitter-patter that announces its arrival. My seatmate scolds me and tells me to study. I wave her off and continue drawing after stealing a glance out the window.492084862

Finally I’m done with classes for the day. I throw a disapproving look at the sky. “Cheater,” I mutter under my breath and I’m answered by a strong gust of wind that messes up my usual messed up hair even more. I tell myself to calm down. Don’t expect too much, Zeebee, I think glumly to myself, It’ll blow away.

As I walk down the building, the air gets cooler. It’s gusty by the time I reach the ground floor. People are laughing and planning the long weekend ahead. “Come on already,” I beg silently. “It’s not like I’m not asking for much,” I pout. And then it happens.

A drop suddenly falls on my nose, making me look up. A loud rumble follows as if to catch my attention, if by chance I had missed its previous attempt. Well to be honest, it certainly worked. People stopped, gazed at the sky and ran for cover. The ones who live nearby rushed to their vehicles, hoping to reach home before it started in earnest. The smarter ones dug into their bags. The security guard blew his whistle. The sleeping dog moved to a tree and continued with its life’s vocation. And in the midst of all this activity I stood, my grin growing wider by the second. Awaiting that glorious event which would be the perfect setting for a first kiss, a dramatic break-up, a violent fight or maybe a cheesy Bollywood dance number.

And my patience is soon rewarded. The familiar scent of wet earth and mud reach me. It is very windy now.

431175910e70dfee3eebae4a573638c1Another great rumble and the much awaited pitter-patter begins. The concrete becomes spotted in a wink and the next thing you know….it’s drenched. Like my t-shirt. Or my hair. Or my new pop art sneakers which I spent the entire day protecting from dust. Shit! I race for my two-wheeler, skipping over the water-logged areas, grinning all the way.

 

On post-thought, anyone who saw me must have thought me demented.

Oh well.

 

3 thoughts on “The Rainy Days.

Leave a Reply

