INFP – Turbulent Feels…

I used to be an INFJ.

Recently, I have begun taking an interest in personality types again and as usual I get the result of the personalities test as Introvert. Yeah yeah same old same old. That’s what it was 2 years ago too. I for Introvert. N for Intuitive. F for feeling. J for judging. But what’s new is that now it says that I am Prospective rather than Judging. Making me an INFP-T.
Oh btw, the *air-quotes*stands for Turbulent. hehe…totally agree with that.

infp-personality-type-header

I was intrigued. I read through pages and pages about INFP-T’s. Turns out we are one of the rarest species of personality in the world. Ain’t that awesome. I, who revel in my uniqueness was oddly satisfied with that. Sooooo…..I thought I would share my views on that up here.

Look. I am often seen as anti-social, shy, weird and misunderstood. I find it difficult to make best friends and was…am often confused with the world. I stay at home – I didn’t feel ‘old’ or anything of that sort, I am more recharged and feel at peace here. Extroverts are the louder, more sociable types who like the outdoors better and shrivel up when they stay indoors for too long. They get their energy source from people. What the hell is that about? How do you guys do that? I get tired when I maintain conversations for too long. I absolutely hate phone calls.

may-have-to-be-sociable

I never had close friends throughout middle school. I didn’t need the difficulty of compromising myself to be with someone. Leading to me being the quietest girl in class and shrinking into books where I could be free. I don’t think anyone realised how introverted I was, because only I studied personality types and knew that the test came out initially as INFJ, the judging was because I hated to fit in and preferred to look in from outside.

But then here I find that I have landed as an INFP and I totally relate to my type. The personality description described me. But then, I get the difficult thoughts again. I mean, with me…….I am highly introverted and that means highly misunderstood, especially in a family like this…

Mother: ESFJ (Extroverted, Sensory, Feeling, Judging)

Father: ESTJ(Extroverted, Sensory, Thinking, Judging)

And me: INFP (introverted, intuitive, Feeling, Perceiving)

I’m screwed.012573ba03174d21856a8dbf017f4370
I don’t fit in with my family.

Don’t get me wrong, I love them to bits. But we can never agree on any given topic. I am literally the Odd Duckling of the family.

It’s hard to be an INFP, especially where I live. We aren’t really seen for who we are. Where social appearances are all important and everyone is bothered by the ‘What Will People Think?’ syndrome, I come off as laid back without a care. It’s a part of our rebellion to be our authentic selves, yet we only show it to some people – like a gift – you would see glimpses of our golden heart.

Unlike our Extroverted cousins though, we focus their attention on just a few people, a single worthy cause – spread too thinly, we run out of energy, and even become dejected and overwhelmed by all the bad in the world that we can’t fix.

I think INFP’s are really misunderstood, and that some are very outgoing. I love to talk. I love making friends. But I’ve always been highly introverted, except around the “right” people who take pains to understand me. This is usually the INTPs. My best friend in school was probably one of these. The reason for why I feel so connected with an INTP is that we balance one another, I give them feels, they give me logic. I bring fun and imagination whereas they are the ones to hold me back when I go skipping airheadedly into problems. It’s funny because some extreme INTP’s want to completely eradicate themselves of feelings, but INFP’s are the ones who really bring out their emotions.

Another common INFP fact, guys, is that we’re generally clueless to whether you like us. We are affected by emotions and feelings so much that we fall in love easily. INFPs are dreamy idealists, and in the pursuit of the perfect relationship, this quality shows strongest. Never short on imagination, we dream of the perfect relationship, forming an image of this pedestalled ideal that is their soul mate, playing and replaying scenarios in their heads of how things will be.

The worst thing about us is that we often take our idealism too far, setting themselves up for disappointment as, again and again, evil things happen in the world. This is true on a personal level too, as we may not just idealize people, but idolize them, forgetting that no one is perfect.

However……I am not afraid to confront or stand up when I feel that my values have been violated, usually for the sake of others and peaceful harmony. I always want to have positive connections and relationships and anything that disrupts that to me is extremely sad and bothering.

INFPs combine their visionary nature with their open-mindedness to allow them to see things from unconventional perspectives. Being able to connect many far-flung dots into a single theme, it’s no wonder that many INFPs are celebrated poets and authors.

diplomats_mediator_infp_introduction

However, when something captures such a person’s imagination, they can neglect practical matters like day-to-day maintenance and simple pleasures. Totally impractical. This in particular resonates within me. I get too into a book or manga or game, I literally think about it all day. Not concentrating. Doodling about it on the edge of my notebook. These are regular occurrences for me.

Thus, Romantic Fantasist. Sums me perfectly, doesn’t it??

Your very own dreamurrrr,

ZeeBee.

P.S. Anyone else who feels the same? And what are your personality types?? Share your views down below.

P.P.S. Actually………..I am just really happy to share a personality type with Johnny Depp and Tom Hiddleston…. :p

2 thoughts on “INFP – Turbulent Feels…

  1. Hello, INFP-T here too! At least according to those MBTI tests. Will probably end up taking cognitive function tests etc to see if I really feel 100% that type though (perhaps in the Summer when I have more time…)!

    Also used to test as an INFJ btw! People change 🙂

    – Storm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

