Its my B’day and I’ll Blog If I want to!

Goodbye 19, Hello 20! Is it me, or is time going faster? Is this a sign? Am I getting older? I am pretty sure the days and hours are just the same. However, I still feel as though there is NEVER ENOUGH TIME in a day or week to do what I need to do! (Rant Over) All joking aside 19 hasn’t been one of the best years of my life. However, it had its moments. I took a leap of faith this year, in blogging and sharing my weird thoughts with the world and ya know what? I am so glad I did.

Being that this Monday was my BIRTHDAY, I have been playing a memory wheel of the past year in my head. It’s amazing how many things can change in 365 days. I have learned so much about myself this year, not to mention how important it is to truly keep yourself first in all you do.

Since it was my b’day ( HEY FELLOW PISCEANS! ), I figured I’d compile a little list of some of the most important things I’ve learned thus far.

So here’s what I’ve got:

1.) YOU ARE GOING TO GET CRITICIZED NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO, SO DO YOUR THANG.

images (2).jpgHonestly, this is number one for a reason. No matter where I’ve been in life, people have criticized me. If I had listened to every piece of negative feedback, I’d be like sitting in a dark cellar counting flies on the wall, drooling. We’ve all been criticized at one time or another. ‘You do you’ has become my new mantra. You gotta do what you gotta do, & either way someone, somewhere will have something to say. If you don’t want to be criticized, say nothing, do nothing, be nothing.

2.) START WITH A SMALL IDEA, ZONE IN ON IT, & BECOME REALLY, REALLY AWESOME AT THAT IDEA…TO LEAD TO BIGGER OPPORTUNITIES.

Instead of thinking big/BIG/BIGGGG, think small & grow outward like an upside down triangle. ‘If you chase two rabbits, you won’t catch either one.’ I always try to focus in on the niche & expand outward. Having 6 million ideas (Ahem…look who’s talking…but I’ve learnt from it) is scattered & doesn’t allow you to be a full-on PROFESSIONAL at one thing. I’d rather be a genius in one area, than average in twenty.

3.) BEING AN ASSHOLE GETS YOU NOWHERE. BE NICE.

We’ve all been there. Even always chillax me had such a moment a few months back. I was grumpy and irritable and annoyed and basically, all over bothered. My benchmate was gossiping with me about something or the other and I snapped at her because she was stretching the tale out long. Immediately I regretted it and guilt consumed my whole body…so I apologized sincerely. Nevertheless, she had been hurt by that and I take care never to hurt her again.

Lets face it, being a bitch is nasty. For one thing, you feel bad about it later and it hurts your emotional well-being as well.

Smile, be gracious, be kind, & be humble.

4.) YOU NEVER KNOW…

download.jpgOh geez. Don’t judge until you’ve walked in someone’s shoes. People assume they know everything about me because I am an open slash friendly person. They don’t. In fact, they don’t know 80% of my past or my life. I have had MANY bumps in the road. MANY. No one has seen my struggles, & that’s OK with me but to judge without knowing isn’t logical. Life online looks flawless, #blessed, & glamorous. Don’t judge a book by its cover because you never know. No one likes a Judge Judy anyway.


5.) YOU CANNOT CHANGE PEOPLE.

This is PROBABLY THE HARDEST THING EVER FOR ME. For years I would try to control the outcome of family drama, friendships, work, etc. This year I’ve realized that ‘it is, what it is’. Me trying to control the situation & change people into something they’re not is counterproductive & fucking pointless. It’s a waste of breath. People are who they are. This year I’ve become more accepting…especially because you never know the whole story. People are set in their ways for their own reasons.

6.) NO ONE IS GOING TO DO ANYTHING FOR YOU.

If you want something to happen, get off your ass & make it happen. Ok if we’re being honest, this is one of my Dad’s life tips, so this was his addition. A fairy godmother isn’t going to come create a dream career for you because you are getting an amazing degree… Life is what you make of it. If you want to be a successful woman, go for it. It’s not going to fall into your lap. If you want to do good in the world, then do good. Opportunities don’t just fall from the sky, you gotta make it happen.

7.) WORRYING IS LIKE A ROCKING CHAIR, IT GETS YOU NOWHERE.

 

 


images


I MEAN IF SOMEONE WOULD HAVE TOLD ME THIS AT 16, I WOULD HAVE HAD SO MUCH LESS STRESS. Worrying is pointless. Pointless. What’s the point of worrying? Whenever I start worrying about something I cannot control, I shift my focus. Life is going to flow how it flows.

And lastly,

8.) THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS FAIR OR UNFAIR.

Things are what they are. I keep the words ‘fair’ and ‘unfair’ out of my vocabulary. You make your own life, your own destiny, & your own future. You can get what you can get, or you don’t. Life isn’t fair or unfair, unless you cultivate that— focus on moving forward & don’t worry about what other people are doing…remember as Bethenny Frankel said “stay in your own lane!”

Obviously this is a list of things that I need to work on daily because I’m not perfect by any means & need daily reminders. Really, it just kind of helps to write these reminders down! I’m not preaching, just sharing…again, do what works for you!

Cheers to 20 years of me! Two whole decades of this crazy, dreamer self. Wow.

Now, I must go pack! For the best….is yet to come.

Yours forever-a-dreamer,

ZEEBEE.
P.S. What would you add to this? What have been your life lessons the past year?? Let me know in the comments below. Also please don’t forget to press that Star button if you liked this. And follow me for more such content. As always, don’t forget to bring your Imagination….wherever you go!  download (1)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Its my B’day and I’ll Blog If I want to!

Leave a Reply

